Charming Great Wall-Brief Introduction of the Great Wall

A Brief Introduction to the Scenic spot

The Mutianyu Great Wall has a long history and splendid culture, which is 70 kilometers away from Beijing City. As one of the famous spots of the Great Wall, the Mutianyu Great Wall is the essence of the Great Wall of the Ming dynasty. It has its own unique architectural style. Zhengguantai is very rare because there’re three watchtowers erected at one fortress. There are several sections in the northwestern part, known as the "cow horns edge", "arrow" and "Eagles flying face up", which are steep, towering, and undulating, resembling a soaring dragon soar. In spring, flowers bloom; in summer, mountains are covered with green with spring water running underneath; in autumn, red leaves cover the whole mountain range, with fruits on trees; in winter, snow falls and it’s a pure white world, thus gaining its reputation of being the best part of the Great Wall at home and abroad.
I. Geographical Location
The Mutianyu Great Wall is located in Mutianyu Village in Huairou district, with Gubeikou to the east and Huanghuacheng and Badaling to the west. It’s also not far from Juyong Pass, Zijing Pass, Daoma Pass. As the poem goes, "west of Bohai fairyland, east of purple and green Juyong”, so the steep and towering terrain makes it possible to preserve Mutianyu as the most well-kept and typical portion of the Great Wall which dates back to the Ming Dynasty. It was also a great military barrier and protection for the capital and Imperial Tombs, thus it has been a hotly contested spot since ancient times.
II. Natural Environment
The Mutianyu Great Wall has four distinct seasons, and tourism activities can be carried out all year round. With ranges of mountains surrounded, the vegetation coverage rate has reached more than 96%, and the annual average temperature is 11.9 degrees Celsius. The warm and humid climate helps keep an abundant vegetation coverage, so the part of the Great Wall is nestled in the green mountains and rivers. The ancient atmosphere and the beauty of nature is well blended into one harmonious whole, leading to the reputation of “the unique beauty of the Mutianyu Great Wall among the ten thousand li Great Wall”. There are over a thousand old trees of more than a hundred years old. From the beginning of March on, apricot trees, peach trees, Rhododendron and others start to bloom one after another all over the mountains; into the summer, you can see green mountains, with spring water running below trees; in autumn, you can find green pine trees and cypress trees, red maple, oak, and chestnut trees, yellow apricot trees and golden pear and persimmon trees, purple pear and plum trees. All different colours of leaves intertwine with the white colour of branches, forming a natural painting; in winter, snow mountains glow and gleam, presenting a picturesque Northland scenery.
III. Landscape features
1. Zhengguantai
also known as Mutianyuguan, or Three Buildings, built in the Ming Yongle 2nd year (AD 1404). The three watchtowers are lined up together, two layers. The one in the middle is relatively big and the ones on the side are small. Each floor of the three watchtowers is connected, forming the style of the main hall in the centre and the rooms are on the side, which is very rare in the entire construction of the Great Wall.
2. Dilou Towers
there are many Dilou towers in the Mutianyu Great Wall. There are four Dilou Towers from the 1st Muzi Terrace (Dajiao Tower) to fourth Muzi Terrace (Zhengguan Tower) within less than 500 meters; from the 1st Muzi Terrace to the 20th Muzi Terrace, there’re 25 buildings including watchtowers, battlements and wall units, and bedrooms within 3000 metres. It’s also unusual to see a Dilou tower every one hundred metre in the Great Wall.
3. Double Crenels
the Mutianyu Great Wall has crenels on both sides of the Wall. The rest of the Great Wall all has crenels on the outer wall, while the Mutianyu stretch of the Great Wall has crenels on both sides that soldiers can fight against the enemy from both sides. This means the Mutianyu Great Wall is an important strategic position in battle in history.
4. Branch City
There are both outside stretch and inner stretch of Wall in the Mutianyu Great Wall. A so-called Branch City refers to a branch stretch built and connected to the main stretch of the Wall. The outside stretch connects the 11th Muzi Terrace Wall; and the inner stretch is called “Bald Tail Side”, which extends to the south from the Big Horn Tower.
5. "Ox Horn Edge”
the Mutianyu Great Wall winds its way from the north to the west. At the No. 20 Watchtower, the Wall climes straight up the hillside to the north high cliff top, 1039 meters high, from the flat south, meeting a tower at the top of the mountain and then turning along the cliff edge straight down through the valleys along the opposite ridge. Then it winds its way down westward. With its twists and turns, this resembles a horn, vigorous and firm, known as the “Ox Horn Edge".
6. “Flying Eagles face up”
one side of the Great Wall is cliff, and the other side is a steep of 70 degrees. This stretch of the Wall climbs to the peak from one side of a cliff and drops about 10 metres to the other side almost vertically down. Each step is only a few fingers wide, and one can hardly fit in a foot. That's why it is also described as “Flying Eagles face up”, meaning it's very lofty and cragged.
IV. Activity Items:
1. the first Cable Car of the Great Wall
The full length of the cable line is 723 meters, and it’s 640 meters high at the end. There are 58 cable cars which open and close automatically. The cable can hold 1800 passengers / hour one way in total. The operation system is fully automatic and passengers with disabilities can also get on and off cable cars easily and safely at the station. It’s comfortable, convenient and fast, so it’s gained the name of "the first cable car of the Great Wall".
2. Speed Slide
The slide is a new sport, also for fun, commonly known as “Land Sled”. It utilizes the principle of acceleration of gravity to drive the pulley and tramcars down the mountain dive, full of thrill and excitement, but it’s safe and comfortable at the same time. You’ll like flying or driving a race car. Besides, the speed slide has a brake device, which can both speed up and slow down. So it’s good for both the young and the old. This stainless steel equipment is made by a Germany company, called Wiegand, and it has a total length of 1580 meters. This speed slide, can carry you safely from the mountain top to the foot of the the Great Wall.
3. The Great Wall Culture Exhibition Center
The Mutianyu Great Wall Cultural Exhibition Center is located in the the Mutianyu Great Wall comprehensive service area with a simple and elegant design. It covers an area of 1207 square meters, and fully demonstrate the profound cultural heritage of the Mutianyu Great Wall.
V. A brief introduction to the Comprehensive Service Area
The Mutianyu Great Wall comprehensive management service area is located in the town of Bohai Mutianyu, north of the Mutianyu roundabout. The construction area is 44674.76 square meters. There is a tourist centre, a ticket office, the Great Wall cultural exhibition centre, offices, and car parks above the ground and underground. With service facilities and the layout improved and the economy developing, the Mutianyu Great Wall is becoming more and more tourist-friendly and environment-friendly.
1. Tourist Service Centre: There’s an electronic screen to display the information of the scenic spots; the Map Wall is to give a guidance and panorama view for tourists; the consulting desk is mainly to provide information and help for tourists including tour guide service, medical assistance, comprehensive services, and business centre as well as dealing with complaints. Besides, the centre also provides free service including cold and hot water, parcel storage, baby prams, wheelchairs and etc…
2. Ticket Office: There are 13 ticket booths in the ticket office in total, including 3 booths for group tickets, respectively for admission, cable cars and speed slides. With individual and group tickets booking separately, it’s very convenience for tourists.
3. Restaurants: There are several decent Chinese and Western restaurants, including Great Wall Hills, Wing Pine Tower, and some restaurants along the market street. They provide a comfortable, elegant dining environment and delicious food for all kinds of tourists.
4. Car Parks: There are car parks on the ground and underground, with an area of 45091.98 square meters, enough for a total of 1051 parking spaces. The underground car park is 30142.98 square meters, enough for a total of 806 parking spaces and the one above the ground is 14949 square meters, with a total of 245 parking spaces.
5. Shuttle Cart: There are 15 shuttle carts in the whole scenic area. They can carry 2500 tourists per hour. Visitors can take the shuttle cart to the Great Wall tourist area.
6. Commercial Street in the Great Wall: As you inherit the traditional culture, we will provide you with tourism souvenirs of the Mutianyu Great Wall creative brand at the same time. The famous catering chain of Chinese and Western style will provide you good dining services. The catering chain brands all provide special outdoor tables, so you can look at the beautiful scenery and enjoy a variety of special nice food. Coffee and tea drinks are available in all street stores, which can keep you stay away from the hustle and bustle of the city and enjoy the slow city life.

魅力长城-长城概况
慕田峪长城历史悠久,文化灿烂,距北京城区70公里,是北京著名长城景点之一,是明朝万里长城的精华所在。慕田峪长城的构筑有着独特的风格,三座敌楼并矗一台的正关台,为长城之罕见。西北面有俗称“牛犄角边”、“箭扣”及“鹰飞倒仰”等长城景观,其势险峻峥嵘,起伏连绵,如巨龙飞腾。春季,群芳争妍,山花烂漫;夏季,满山青翠,流水潺潺;秋季,红叶漫山,果实累累;冬季,白雪皑皑,银装素裹,一派北国风光,在中外享有“万里长城慕田峪独秀”的美誉。
地理位置
慕田峪长城位于怀柔区慕田峪村,东接古北口,西至黄花城、八达岭,与居庸、紫荆、倒马三关遥相呼应,“东连渤海仙源台,西映居庸紫翠迭”,地势险要,是我国现存明代长城中保存最完整、最具有代表性的段落之一,是拱卫京都和皇陵安全的军事屏障,自古为兵家必争之地。
自然环境
慕田峪长城四季分明,春、夏、秋、冬四季都可开展季节性的旅游活动。这里群山怀抱,植被覆盖率达96%以上,年平均气温11.9度,气候温暖湿润,造就了丰富的植被覆盖率,长城掩映在青山绿水之间,古老与秀美浑然一体,享有“万里长城慕田峪独秀”的美誉。百年以上的古树多达千棵以上。从3月开始山桃、山杏、山荆子、迎红杜鹃等山花次第开放,漫山遍野,山花烂漫;进入夏季,群山叠翠,流水潺潺:秋季,绿色的有松树、柏树,红色的枫树、橡树,黄色的栗树、杏树,金色的柿树、糖梨树,紫色的梨树、李子树,映衬着落叶后山杨的白色枝干,构成了一副层林尽染的天然图画;冬季,白雪皑皑,山舞银蛇,银装素裹好一派北国风光。
景观特色
1、正关台
又称慕田峪关、三座楼,建于明永乐二年(公元1404年)三座敌楼并矗,分为上下两层,中部较大,两侧较小,三座敌楼之间各层相通,形成主厅侧室之格局,在整个长城建筑中甚为罕见。
2、敌楼
慕田峪长城敌楼密集。从慕字一台(大角楼)至慕字四台(正关台)。不到500米,就设敌楼4座;从慕字一台至慕字二十台,长度仅3000米,敌楼、敌台、墙台、铺房就25座,这种百米左右就有一座敌楼的长城段也是不多见的。
3、双面垛口
慕田峪长城拥有双面垛口。其他段长城,多为长城外侧一面建垛口墙,而慕田峪段长城却两面都为垛口墙,垛口墙即守城将士对敌作战的掩体。两面垛口墙,即意味着两侧同敌作战,可见慕田峪段长城在历史上的重要战略地位。
4、支城
慕田峪长城内、外支城并存。支城,即在主长城之外根据战事需要顺山势又节外生枝修出的长城。慕田峪的外支城即主城墙外侧,连接慕字十一台的城墙;内支城即大角楼向南延伸的城墙,称为“秃尾巴边”。
5、“牛犄角边”
慕田峪长城为西北走向,经过20 号敌楼,由平缓南侧山坡直奔千米高的北部陡崖顶端,一直爬上了高达1039 米的山顶。在山顶筑了一座敌楼后,又翻身沿陡崖边缘径直而下,绕过山谷,沿对面山梁又折了下来,向西蜿蜒而去。长城经过这一上一下,其造型酷似一牛角,苍劲雄浑,人们称之为“牛犄角边”。
6、鹰飞倒仰”
长城一侧是起立的悬崖,一侧是大于70度角的陡坡。从尖峰的一侧爬到峰顶,又从另一侧垂直下来,高差达十米,每一台阶只有几指宽,几乎放不下一只脚的宽度。故形容既使老鹰也要仰着才能飞过去,故名“鹰飞倒仰”,奇险无比。
游玩项目
1、万里长城第一缆车
缆车索道全长723米,终点海拔高度640米。有自动启闭车厢58个,单程运量为1800人次/小时。运行系统全部自动化,站内可以临时停靠,方便行动不便人事上下车,安全、舒适、快捷,有"万里长城第一缆车"之美称。
2、施必得滑道
滑道是一种新兴的集体育、娱乐为一体的娱乐项目,俗称旱地雪橇。它利用重力加速度的原理使滑车沿着高山俯冲而下,惊险、刺激、安全、舒适,有贴地飞翔和驱车飞奔之感。由于滑车有制动装置,可飞驰也可慢行,老少皆宜。此滑道是德国威岗公司生产的不锈钢槽式滑道,全长1580米,依山顺势呈蛇状从慕字号楼把您安全的送到长城脚下。 
3、长城文化展示中心
慕田峪长城文化展示中心坐落在慕田峪长城综合服务区,其外观古朴典雅,占地面积1207平方米,充分地展示慕田峪长城深厚的文化底蕴。
综合服务区概况
慕田峪长城综合管理服务区位于渤海镇慕田峪环岛北侧,建筑面积44674.76平方米。设有游客中心、售票处、长城文化展示中心、办公区、地上及地下停车场等。服务设施的相继建立完善,不仅加速了慕田峪长城的整体发展,促进景区经济开发的布局优化,同时也极大的方便了景区游客的出行与游览。
服务设施
1、游客服务中心:设有电子信息显示屏来显示景区信息;地图墙主要为游客介绍方位及提供导游全景图;咨询服务台主要提供旅游信息咨询、投诉处理、导游讲解、医疗救助、对外宣传、综合服务、商务服务。可以为您免费提供冷热水、包裹寄存、婴儿车、轮椅等贴心服务。
2、售票处:共有13个售票窗口,其中有3个团体售票窗口分别是门票、缆车、滑道售票口。散客售票与团体售票独立分开,方便游客购票。
3、餐厅:长城山庄、翼松楼餐厅和商街内中西餐厅为您提供舒适、优雅的就餐环境和美味可口的佳肴,满足您的各种饮食需求。
4、停车场:建有地上及地下停车场,面积45091.98平方米,共有1051个车位。地下停车场面积30142.98平方米,共有806个车位。地上停车面积为14949平方米,共有245个车位。
5、摆渡车:景区共有摆渡车15辆,每小时运送游客2500人。游客乘摆渡车可到达长城游览区。
6、商业街:在向您传承传统长城文化同时提供给您创意慕田峪长城品牌特色旅游纪念品;中西式知名餐饮连锁为您提供良好的就餐服务;各餐饮品牌均提供特色外摆区域,使您望着秀美的景色同时可品尝到各种特色美食;商街各店铺均提供咖啡,茶饮品,使您远离城市喧嚣尽情享受城市慢生活。